Her er vinneren av Nordisk Lyspris 2020

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Helsinki metro stasjoner ble kunngjort som vinneren av Nordisk Lyspris 2020 under et Facebook Live-arrangement 20. mai.

”The project is highly innovative – these are not your typical metro stations – yet at the same time visually durable; the jury believes that these environments will also remain pleasant and memorable over time”, says the chair of the jury Ourania Georgoutsakou.

The winner of the Nordic Lighting Design Award 2020, Helsinki metro stations. From left: Roope Siiroinen, Antti Hiltunen, Paulina Blomström and Marko Kuusisto from VALOA design. Photo: Aino Siiroinen.

Jury further states, ”The lighting is a very well-integrated part of the architecture. There is a great variety among different stations, and yet every station remains within the lighting concept as a whole. Every station is unique but still – even in this huge project – one can see the resemblance between them. Ingenuity best describes this project – the lighting designers have been very successful in developing and applying many different solutions. The jury also very much appreciates how light
is used on vertical surfaces and behind glass. This gives the feeling of a larger space and facilitates orientation.”

”It is a great honour for Finland and the complete team behind the design of the Helsinki metro stations to be awarded the Nordic Lighting Design Award. The award means a lot to us and feels like a well-deserved prize after years of hard work, cooperation, and building the field of lighting design”, comments project leader Roope Siiroinen from VALOA design.

”Helsinki metro stations project was a great example of the significance of cooperation of different fields in built environment and the possibilities of integrating lighting into architecture. It is great to see that the final result is appreciated”, comments lighting designer Marko Kuusisto from VALOA design.

About the award
Nordisk Lyspris or the Nordic Lighting Design Award was created by the Nordic Light Committee in the year 2000. The award is primarily awarded to especially remarkable lighting installations using daylight or artificial light, that in an exemplary way combine aesthetics, architecture, technology, quality, and energy. Originality and creativity are given great weight when evaluating.

Projects eligible for the Nordic Lighting Design Award are the national winners from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden from the past two years – representing the best of Nordic lighting design. The award is handed out biennially and the purpose is to highlight the particular qualities inherent in the Nordic lighting culture.

The Nordic Light Committee consists of the five lighting organisations: Dansk Center for Lys in Denmark, Suomen Valoteknillinen Seura in Finland, Ljóstæknifélag Íslands in Iceland, Lyskultur in Norway, and Belysningsbranschen in Sweden.

Chair of jury
Ourania Georgoutsakou, Secretary General of LightingEurope
ourania.georgoutsakou@lightingeurope.org  +32 471 02 83 22

Jury members
Denmark – Rune Bugge Jensen
Finland – Ari Peltola
Iceland – Ágúst Gunnlaugsson
Norway – Birgitte Appelong
Sweden – Lars Fredén

Nominated projects
Restaurant Noma, Denmark
Aurora Experience, Finland
Helsinki metro stations, Finland
The Retreat – Blue Lagoon, Iceland
The old pier, Iceland
Holmestrand station, Norway
Restaurant Under, Norway
Ekonomikum, Sweden
Restaurant Frantzén, Sweden

More information



Suomen Valoteknillinen Seura Heikki Härkönenheikki.harkonen@valosto.com +358 400 869 339

Kåringen kan du se på vår facebookside her

Meld deg på Lyskulturs nyhetsbrev

Vi deler jevnlig fagartikler, nyheter om våre events, kurs og magasiner. Meld deg på vårt nyhetsbrev og få dette rett i innboksen!